When Did Wales Win the Six Nations? [RECORD IN FULL]

The Six Nations Championship – fought out annually by England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, France and Italy – is perhaps the most popular and most competitive rugby union contest in the world.

It was formed first as the Home Nations Championship in 1883, became the Five Nations in 1910 when France joined, reverted to the Home Nations between 1932 and 1939 and has been the Six Nations since 2000, when perennial strugglers Italy joined the ranks.

Overall, Wales have been one of the most successful sides in the competition from 1883 onwards. But how have they fared since the inception of the Six Nations?

Let’s look at how this county with an almost unmatched rugby heritage has done since 2000.

How Many Times Have Wales Won the Six Nations?

Wales have won the Six Nations Championship six times since it began in 2000 – in 2005, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2019 and 2021. Only in 2013 and 2021 did they not complete the Grand Slam of winning all five of their matches, instead only winning four of the five and earning the Triple Crown instead.

Of the six competing countries, only Scotland and Italy have failed to lift the Six Nations trophy at least once.

Wales Six Nations Record

YearGames WonGames WonChampions

Did Wales Win the Five Nations?

Wales won the Five Nations Championship – played from 1910 to 1931 and 1947 to 1999 – on 15 occasions, and shared the title a further eight times. Their first win came in 1911, the second staging of the tournament, where they also won the Grand Slam by winning all four matches.

Their golden period came during the 1970s, where they either won or shared the title seven times, a feat that also included three Grand Slams.

However, they struggled in the subsequent years, with their only success being a shared title with France in 1988 and lifting the trophy themselves in 1994, a year before the sport became fully professional.

Despite their relative success, Wales also earned the unwanted Wooden Spoon title by not winning a single game on six occasions.

Has Wales Ever Won a Grand Slam?

Wales have won a Grand Slam in the Six Nations Championship – meaning they won all five matches –  four times. Those were in 2005, 2008, 2012 and  2019. They also won the title despite not winning all their matches in both 2013 and 2021.

In the Five Nations, Wales completed the coveted Grand Slam six times – in 1911, 1950, 1952, 1971, 1976 and 1978 – and the Triple Crown in another 11 editions of the championship.

Share this story

Rich Wolfenden Reveals What It's REALLY Like to be a Football Commentator👇

Thomas Smith

Tommy is a freelance writer and editor based in Spain but originally from the north east of Scotland. A former daily newspaper reporter, he is passionate about football, loves cricket and snooker and enjoys watching most sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts