England Six Nations Record [Year-by-Year]

The Six Nations Championship – played each year by England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, France and Italy – is arguably the most famous and most competitive rugby union competition in the world.

It was formed first as the Home Nations Championship in 1883, became the Five Nations in 1910 when France joined, reverted to the Home Nations between 1932 and 1939 and has been the Six Nations since 2000, when perennial strugglers Italy joined the ranks.

England have been one of the most successful sides in the hugely popular competition overall, but how have they fared since the inception of the Six Nations?

Let’s look at how they have done since the turn of the millennium.

How Many Times Have England Won the Six Nations?

England have won the Six Nations Championship seven times since it began in 2000 – in 2000, 2001, 2003, 2011, 2016, 2017 and 2020. Of these, they completed the Grand Slam by winning all five matches in 2003 and 2016.

In addition, they won the Triple Crown by beating all three of the other home nations involved in 2002, 2003, 2014, 2016 and 2020.

Of the six competing nations, only Scotland and Italy have failed to lift the Six Nations trophy at least once.

When Did England Last Win the Six Nations?

England last won the Six Nations in 2020, which was their seventh win overall. In all, between the Home Nations, Five Nations and Six Nations tournaments, it was their 29th title, and their first since 2017.

The 2020 edition was suspended and then rearranged because of the COVID pandemic, which meant the final matches of the tournament were delayed until October that year, seven months later than the usual March finish.

The well-fancied England side actually lost their first game 24-17 to France, but went on to become the first country to win the Six Nations after losing their first game since Wales in 2013 by beating Scotland 13-6, Ireland 24-12, Wales 33-30 and Italy by a resounding 34-5 to clinch the title.

England’s Six Nations Record

YearFinal PositionGames WonChampions

How Many Grand Slams Have England Won?

England have only won a Grand Slam in the Six Nations Championship – meaning they won all five matches – twice, in 2003 and 2016. They also clinched the title despite not winning all their matches in 2000, 2001, 2011, 2017 and 2020.

In the Five Nations, England completed the coveted Grand Slam 11 times and the Triple Crown in another 16 editions of the championship.

England and Ireland are the only two sides not to pick up the dreaded Six Nations Wooden Spoon, awarded to a team that fails to win any of its five matches.

Share this story

Rich Wolfenden Reveals What It's REALLY Like to be a Football Commentator👇

Thomas Smith

Tommy is a freelance writer and editor based in Spain but originally from the north east of Scotland. A former daily newspaper reporter, he is passionate about football, loves cricket and snooker and enjoys watching most sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts