Manchester United Longest Trophy Drought in Club History [Top 3]

As one of the most successful football clubs in world history with an estimated 700 million supporters globally, Manchester United Football Club is often expected to be competing for silverware every football season.

Despite a recent trophy drought of six years, the Red Devils have won 13 Premier League titles, seven Division One title, three European Cup/Champions League trophies as well as a further 43 pieces of silverware since their formation in 1878.

But what is the club’s longest trophy drought in history? And what is Manchester United’s longest league title drought?

Longest Manchester United Trophy Droughts

Trophy Drought SeasonsLength of Trophy Drought
1911-195241 Years
1878-190830 Years
1967-197710 Years
Manchester United’s Longest Trophy Droughts (Top 3)

1. 1911- 1952 (41 Years)

After lifting the historic FA Community Shield and the First Division title in the 1910-1911 season, Manchester United would see a dreaded 41 years follow without any league silverware as the club suffered their longest-ever First Division trophy drought in the club’s history.

The drought was ended in 1952 as the Red Devils managed to lift the First Division title and the FA Community Shield in the same season, marking an impressive return for the champions of England.

2. 1878-1908 (30 Years)

Fresh off their transition from Newton Heath Football Club to Manchester United Football Club following the takeover by John Henry Davies, the club would be forced to wait 30 years before they could lift their first league title as Manchester United.

With long-serving manager Ernest Mangnall leading them to victory, Manchester United won the First Division title with striker Sandy Turnbull finishing the season as the club’s top scorer with 25 league goals.

3. 1967-1977 (10 Years)

After winning the First Division title and the FA Community Shield in the 1967-68 season, the future for Manchester United was filled with promise and high expectations from the club’s supporters. This was sadly followed by a disastrous 10-year drought in the league, their third-longest league title drought since the club’s founding.

The 10-year drought came to an end in United’s 76th season in the Football League, with the club winning the FA Cup and FA Community Shield in the same season. Although they would need to wait another six years for their next trophy (1983 FA Community Shield) the 1977 double is a fondly remembered time in the Red Devils’ history books as it ended the 10-year wait for silverware.

Man United Longest League Title Droughts

Trophy Drought SeasonsLength of Trophy Drought
1911-195241 Years
1878-190830 Years
1967-199326 Years
2013-Present10 Years
Manchester United’s Longest League Title Droughts (Top 4)

1. 1911-1952 (41 Years)

Despite collecting silverware in the form of the 1948 FA Cup, Manchester United were forced to wait an agonizing 41 years before winning the First Division title since lifting the trophy in 1911.

United would win both the First Division title and the FA Community Shield in the 1952-53 season, however, the ending of the longest league title drought in their history will always be seen as the main achievement of that season.

2. 1878-1908 (30 Years) 

Having officially transitioned to Manchester United Football Club after the purchase of the club from John Henry Davies, United waited 30 years before they could win their first league trophy officially as Manchester United – the First Division title.

United would go on to win six more First Division titles before the competition was officially changed to the Premier League on the 27th of May 1992.

3. 1967-1993 (26 Years) 

After winning their final ever First Division title in 1967 before the formation of the Premier League, Manchester United would go on a 26-year league title drought, the club’s third longest spell without league silverware in history.

The drought was finally ended in 1993 as the Red Devils won their first-ever Premier League title under the management of Manchester United legend Sir Alex Ferguson.

4. 2013-present (10 Years)

Manchester United’s fourth longest run without any league silverware began in the 21st season of the Premier League as they lifted the title in the 2012-13 campaign.

Since 2013, United have lifted the FA Cup, the FA Community Shield twice, the Football League Cup, and the UEFA Europa League, however, they are still eager to once again be crowned champions of England.

Current Man Utd Trophy Drought 

At the time of writing this, Manchester United are currently suffering from a six-year trophy drought in all competitions with the club’s greatest chance of breaking the streak arriving soon in the 2022-23 EFL Cup final as they face Newcastle United.

Manchester United have amazingly spent over £500 million since their last trophy win in 2017 further highlighting the club’s ambitions to add more silverware to their already stocked trophy cabinet, which naturally saw their net debts increase in the process.

United are now on their fourth manager since their last trophy, José Mourinho was at the helm during the club’s Europa League victory while current manager Erik Ten Hag searches for his first trophy as the Red Devil’s boss.

Share this story

Rich Wolfenden Reveals What It's REALLY Like to be a Football Commentator👇

James Worthington

James is a sports writer from Leicestershire with a strong interest in football, boxing, and rugby union. He has considerable experience in the sports media industry, having worked with numerous professional sports clubs in the UK and the Netherlands. See James' portfolio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts